“They were covered in this white film, so I looked away.”

9 Jan

I am happy to report that my brother is a daddy, twice removed. Rather, twice involved.

Here’s Genevieve, the problem child:

(Problem child: Supposedly only one kidney, possible calcium deposits around her heart, low amniotic fluid, loves Justin Beiber.)

Here’s her twin sister Analiese:

Those are some cute preemies, if I do say so myself. I think they look like my brother, but then also like my sister-in-law. Of course, I’m convinced you can make any baby look like a parent if you think hard enough about it. In fact, I could probably convince myself they look like Ralph Nader.

Here is Mom with her girls. She had some issues in the day following the birth feeling pretty miserable without them. Happy here to be holding them both at the same time — my sister V caught this shot when she went to the NICU this morning:

I think momma-and-baby pictures in the hours following birth are super unfair. Here’s a picture wherein you can see how hot she is in real life.

Is it considered poor form for bloggers to transition into photos with “Here’s a photo of …”? In other words, are you guys getting sick of me saying, “Here is a picture of …”? Well, screw you. Here’s a picture of me licking my third neice, Mera:

See how much she loves me? I’m an awesome aunt.

But back to the new nieces. Turns out both babies are happy and healthy, and while Genevieve may in fact have only one kidney, Analiese has eight, so she’s going to give one to Genevieve and auction off the others to help offset hospital costs. In all seriousness, though, we are all thrilled that the babies are thriving. It was truly an emotional group effort, whether the parents liked it or not. There were some issues with gettin’ the little ones goin’ in the first place, and once they were up and running, it seemed like the parents had to deal with information overload along with possible issues (most of which, obviously, turned out to be totally null and void). This took a toll on the people who loved them, and the overwhelming relief we all shared Thursday evening was cause for celebration.

Vivian and I drove in from Stillwater and met everyone at the hospital as soon as we found out the C-section had been scheduled. It turned out to be a late night, and Vivian didn’t end up getting to see the girls, but we were both soooo glad we were there to share in the true joy these two families felt.

I know babies are born every day, and they are all special, but these two little gals had a lot of people pulling for them, and a lot happy to see them in the flesh.

My favorite moment in all of this was the text I got from my brother moments before the Caesarean: “This shit is about to go down.”

So, what have we learned from this birth?

  • When they come into your hospital room and take your food, that means this shit is about to go down.
  • You can most certainly have beer in the Hilcrest Women’s Center.
  • If you look up over the sheet at the actual operation as it’s taking place, you will see a gash in your wife’s side from which doctors are pulling out your first-born female child, who is going to be covered in some white film, at which point you’re probably wise to just look back down at your wife and smile like this is the greatest thing you’ve ever seen, not the grossest. Hands-down grossest.

 

2 Responses to ““They were covered in this white film, so I looked away.””

  1. Cheledog January 10, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    Thanks for that great synopses! I felt like I was in the room! LOL! Glad everyone is OK and that Matt did not faint. I’ve heard stories about the fathers passing out and getting their head gashed, requiring emergency surgery of their own! Hugs and kisses all around!

  2. sarah hart January 18, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    You’re funny. And I’ll take one of those kidneys if they’re still available.

Leave a Reply

