“Let’s get drunk …

23 May

“… and misbehave with inflatable toys.”

Day Two of the inspiration box, and pardon me — I originally posted to the wrong blog, so I added that post here.

To be honest, I have no idea what that references, but it’s funny. It either has to do with the lake, sex toys or a story I once did about a prank some high school band members played on their freshmen members at an away game where they made them pose sexually (though fully clothed) with inflatable sheep and took pictures of them, then got in trouble for sexually exploiting minors. Way to understand kids, authority figures. And way to seem super cool, senior bandies!

Speaking of getting drunk … such an ugly way to put it! We had five couple over this weekend for a band/fan cookout. It was BYOB, a mission each couple/family took fairly seriously. So there was hamburgering, and drinking, and caking and cooking and I think most people left around midnight and I would say it was a successful evening.

Events included:

* Real-life snake handling

* This:

* The formulation of a pilot for a series called “The Real Housewives of Payne County” (highlight: A clip of one of my new friends saying, “I honestly am a nice person and I usually get along with everyone!” spliced over a shot of her throwing a drink in someone’s face)

* “Shots” of Ol’Boy’s margaritas (a much better way to consume them, really)

* Walking into the kitchen the next morning and feeling like an extra in “The Hangover.” In so many ways.

So it’s been two years, and look at me! Friends, a new house, a great job, a puppy, a cat, wonderful child and a husband who knows just want to say, when to say it and when to just shut the fuck up and clean up the kitchen while I nap.

Leave a Reply

