‘They call me MR. Pig!’

19 Oct

So much has happened. So much that I can hardly afford time to see my husband and child, let alone write about it.

So here’s my version of the last four months, short-form version.

1. Bought a house. It. Is. Awesome. If you love living in old lady houses, which I totally do, in which there’s one consistent color of brand-new paint throughout and carpet on EVERY earthbound surface save the kitchen (yes, even the bathrooms are carpeted). My old hardwoods were lovely, but as my old boss Marco Bruno says, “Hardwoods are for dreamers,” IE, people who can afford maids or who love to sweep every few hours. I just walk in and kick off my shoes and marvel at how freaking nice it is.

2. New paint, new carpet … and a deck! That overlooks the woods! Wherein there is a trail that I forged that leads to a road to an old hayfield where I take my dog daily and he runs while I trot in circles and he occasionally manages to notice the deer and foxes that run past and chases them and scares me because it takes him 15 minutes to come back! But mostly just the deck and the woods.

3. Yesterday I found two turtles making sweet love in my woods. Clearly, I attract amorous turtles.

4. Work — love my O’Colly students, and love my job teaching two sections of one class called electronic communications and one class called Newsroom 101. Making both up as I go. Challenging as hell, plus I’m still writing ad copy for a national deals company. So three jobs, but I’m making bank, and so is Billy, and it’s so much easier to find oxygen that way.

5. Vivi is great, thank God. Middle school agrees with her, the girls aren’t mean and she’s even met new friends. She’s turning out to be kind of pretty, with the occasional flash of future hotness popping out.

6. Billy is great. He’s hot and nice. What more could I possibly ask for? Oh, he got this:

I have pretty much decided against any sort of tattoo for myself, but I am a hell of a support team during the action.

So many random thoughts: Jim and Nora visited over Labor Day, Sarah moved to ESPN (no, literally, she works so much she might as well live there), my five nieces are so sweet and fun, Kyle is raking in awards … life continues to be so blessed. And tomorrow is my baby momma’s 47th birthday — I hope she has a great day, even if she wouldn’t really cotton to me tellin’ her so. 🙂 She did give me the two greatest stepsons a mom could want, and for that I thank her!

Leave a Reply

